Miso Chicken

Miso ChickenIn the winter time I love to make all kinds of soup, especially miso soup. But now that it’s spring and the weather is getting warmer, a hot bowl of soup just doesn’t pique my interest. So what do I do with that tub of miso paste I still have in the refrigerator? Well, I always have chicken in my freezer so why not make miso chicken? And once I saw how easy this was, I was kicking myself for not trying this sooner.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 tablespoons white miso paste
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seed oil
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons chopped ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place chicken breasts in a one gallon Ziploc bag and set aside.
  2. In a measuring cup combine: miso paste, sesame oil, garlic, ginger, pepper flakes and water. Mix well.
  3. Pour marinade over chicken breasts and seal bag tight.
  4. Massage marinade over chicken pieces and refrigerate for 2 hours.
  5. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add chicken when oil begins to ripple.
  6. Cook chicken about 4 minutes per side, until no longer pink in center and internal temperature reads 165 degrees.
  7. Serve with jasmine rice and/or your favorite vegetables. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Miso Chicken

Leave a Reply

