Triple Chocolate Chip and Cherry Cookies

cherry triple chocolate chip cookies (1)For Christmas, I like to gift my family boxes of homemade baked goods. I usually rotate what I bake each year, but these cookies are always included. Mmmmmm. Chocolate chip cookies! Who can resist them? Even better, who can resist a chocolate chip cookie made with three types of chocolate and dried cherries? I’ll admit it. I can’t.  If I see them. I will eventually eat them. Maybe that’s why I generally only bake them during the holidays. You know what they say about having too much of a good thing?! (But don’t let my lack of self-control prevent you from making these any time of the year.)

I came up with this recipe because I wanted to make a festive, combination chocolate chip cookie. One that was not chocolate chips and nuts because I’m not big on nuts in my cookies. But chocolate and dried fruit sounded fantastic. You can substitute dried cranberries or even apricots if you prefer.

This recipe yields about 24 to 28 cookies. (But I won’t tell if you make an extra batch for yourself. I’ve been known to do the same.)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup chopped dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare 2 large baking sheets with non stick baking mats or use parchment paper
  3. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt.
  4. Using a mixer combine the butter, sugar and brown sugar and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes until light and fluffy.
  5. Add the egg and vanilla extract and beat on medium speed until combined, about 1 minute.
  6. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture in 3 batches, stirring until just combined.
  7. Add the dried cherries, and the 3 types of chocolate chips to the mixture.
  8. Mix manually with a wooden spoon until chips and cherries are combined.
  9. Drop the dough by heaping tablespoons onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches between cookies.
  10. Bake until light golden brown and just set, 9-10 minutes.
  11. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Note: These cookies can be baked ahead and stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.

3 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Chip and Cherry Cookies

Leave a Reply

